The National Curriculum is organised into blocks as follows:


 Key Stage 1 - Year 1 and Year 2 of primary school

 Key Stage 2 - Years 3 to 6 of primary school


There is also the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) which covers children up to compulsory school age (five) and is used in nursery and reception classes.


Education is the most powerful weapon we can use to change the world.’ -Nelson Mandela

As of September 2015, the New Curriculum will be taught to all year groups and Statutory Assessment Tests (SATs) will now be based on this in Years 2 and 6. Children will still receive a summative result at the end of Key Stage 1 and 2, but levels have now ceased for all primary schools in England. As a result of this, St. Matthew’s has adopted a new approach to teaching and assessing to ensure our pupils receive the very best teaching for outstanding learning.

Why have levels ceased?

The old system of levelling children meant that teachers, pupils and parents saw learning as an upward climb - almost as if the pupils were constantly climbing a ladder - each step being another ‘sub level’. The use of numbers and letters to represent how well your children were achieving at school could be confusing and misleading. Therefore, the option to remove levels and focus on key overarching learning objectives was welcomed warmly by teachers.


What does the new curriculum look like?


All children in Key Stage One and Two will now be assessed against the following key areas in each subject*:

Writing with purpose Punctuating accurately
Using imaginative description Analysing writing
Organising writing appropriately Presenting writing
Presenting neatly Using paragraphs
Spelling correctly Using sentences appropriately
Knowing and using numbers Describing position, direction and movement
Adding and subtracting Using measures
Multiplying and dividing Using statistics
Using fractions Using algebra
Understanding the properties of shapes


Understanding texts Reading words accurately

*objectives taken from Chris Quigley – Essentials Curriculum


Will this help me to understand how to support my child more?


Yes. This new approach pinpoints specific learning areas that your child is excelling at and those which they need more support on. This means that you as parents will now have a much clearer image of how to support your child in their learning.


How will I know my child is making progress?


Each objective from the list above is split into many smaller lesson objectives. In every single one of these areas, your child will begin as an ‘Apprentice’. Learning will then be tailored around ensuring your child develops a deep understanding in their learning. Through this process, they will move from an ‘Apprentice’, to ‘Skilled’ and finally to ‘Expert’. See the diagram below for further information.


How can I support my child from home?


Assessment monitoring in school is constant and therefore your child’s teacher will know any particular area of strength or weakness your child is currently having. The best way to support and develop your child’s learning further is to speak to their class teacher and they will happily pinpoint areas you could assist with at home.